Welcome to the website of the Canary Islanders Heritage Society of Louisiana.  We are a cultural, historical and genealogical society dedicated to promoting the history and heritage of our ancestry of the Canary Islands with emphasis on those who settled here in Louisiana in Galveztown and Valenzuela.

The Canary Islanders Heritage Society of Louisiana, founded in 1996, exists to document, preserve, and celebrate the heritage of our Spanish ancestors from the Canary Islands who immigrated to Louisiana in the 18th century. We focus on the original Canarian settlements founded at Galveztown, Valenzuela, and St. Bernard, and on later Canarian resettlements within the state. We also promote friendship and cultural exchanges between Louisiana and the Canary Islands.

We hold meetings at 11 AM on the first Saturday of each month of the year, most often at the Bluebonnet Branch of the East Baton Rouge Parish Library building (click for more info) in Baton Rouge. Visitors are welcome to attend these meetings and those who have an interest in the objectives of the society are encouraged to join. Canarian kinship is not required to join the society. Monthly meetings are free to attend but there is a membership fee ($15/year) to join the society (please refer to the membership application below).

2014 Officers and Board Members:


Joan Aleman, President

Layne Lindsly, Vice-President

Steve Estopinal, Treasurer


Stella Tanoos, Secretary

Chad LeBlanc, Board Member

Denise Lindsly, Board Member

Clifford Normand, Board Member

Janelle Hickey, Board Member


Membership Application

Please click below to download our application



Adobe Acrobat PDF


2015 dues are now due!  You can mail your dues to the address below, or pay in person at our next monthly meeting.  Thank you.

Please mail the completed form and/or membership dues to:

PO Box 84635
Baton Rouge, LA 70884


Dennis Delaney, First President (1996-1999) (Society was called "Los Isleños de Gálvez Heritage and Cultural Society" during this time)

Carolyn Chaney, Second President (1999-2001)

Joan Aleman, Third President (2001-2003)

Catherine Prokop, Fourth President (2003-2007)

Chad J. LeBlanc, Fifth President (2007-2009)

Rose Marie Powell, Sixth President (2009-2011)

R. Layne Lindsly, Seventh President (2011-2013)


Close window

©2014 Canary Islanders Heritage Society of Louisiana